(verb) Hope-to expect with confidence.

January 6, 2009

Romans 8:25 says: “But if we hope for what we do not yet observe, we eagerly wait for it with patience.” This passage is taken from the bible and gives some good insight on the essence of hope.  Check out these definitions of hope:

(noun) hope – a feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen.

(verb) Hope-to expect with confidence.

After looking at the biblical insight combined with the dictionary definition of hope, i am already inspired.  From a spirit lead context, I see that in order to have hope, I have to have trust.  (Trust is the archaic definition of hope by the way, and the two words can be used interchangeably in most instances when you think about it.) I have to trust in something that I in intangible for the time being.  That leads me back to having faith…which is the evidence of things unseen.  Hmmm…..So having faith and hope run hand in hand.  Sometimes when my faith gets weak, I pray for hope.  As God answers my prayers I start feeling hopeful and my faith gets stronger because of the eagerness in my heart.   The excitement of knowing that God has something special for my life that I have not even tapped into yet is something to feel eager about.  There are several scriptures to draw from to help illustrate my one on one time with God when my faith and hope start to atrophy but there are a few that I can recall now which has always been a beautiful reminder  what is to come:

Jeremiah 29:11 “‘For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.”

1Corinthians 2:9 “But as it is written, Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God has prepared for them that love him.”

How do you define Hope?

Leave a Reply

