Live and Forgive…Magnanimity 2009!

January 6, 2009

Everyone has been hurt before. Everyone has been wronged before.  But life goes on.  How do we learn to move on and live our lives freely without the weight of our past anchoring us down deep in our spirits.  You can never really enjoy life to the fullest if you have the burden of an unforgiving heart.  A sense of bitterness will always lurk inside of your spirit if you do not cast away the transgressions of others…including yourself.  Let 2009 be a year of forgiveness. If its a family member, ex-lover, friend or foe who you have not forgiven now is the time to forgive because it will a HUGE burden off of your shoulders.  You will feel light as a feather and you will feel more confident in knowing that you are truly on the pathway to nobility of character….a rare quality to find in anyone.

Magnanimous people have beautiful hearts.  Don’t you want people to look at you and see you have a beautiful heart? I know I do.  While we all sit here and play victim sometimes we need to look inside ourselves and come to the realization that we haven’t been perfect little angels.  Sadly enough we have all been in situations where we have been the transgressor.  We have all hurt someone, or even ruined someone’s day!  Some of us have even ruined other people’s lives.  Its so sad but we all need closure through forgiveness at one point or another is all I’m trying to say.  So, lets think back to a time when we did something that generated negative consequences.  How much of a the burden was lifted just by being forgiven after repenting or apologizing?

In my maturity I have come to a place where I feel so convicted when I do something that I know is not pleasing to God.  And I pray that he continues to convict me so that I can truly develop a heart that beats to please him. I think about how every time I sin, Jesus says: “I already forgave you when I died on the cross after living a sinless life.”  How sweet of him.  Who am I to NOT forgive someone as though I’m so perfect or so much better than anyone when Jesus is the only perfect person who forgave me when he didn’t even have to!? Colossians 13:3 says: “Be tolerant of one another and forgive each other if anyone has a complaint against another. Just as the Lord has forgiven you, you also should forgive.”

Sometimes we dont want to forgive because it feels like the person who wronged us gets off the hook too easy.  Revenge can be so sweet can’t it?  I have come to a place in my life where I can truly say that I trust in what the Lord has to say about revenge.  I know that I do not have to put any effort into seeking revenge on anyone because God’s word says: “Do not take revenge, dear friends, but leave room for God’s wrath. For it is written, “Vengeance belongs to me. I will pay them back, declares the Lord.”” (Romans 12:19)  I have come to know a tremendous, heaven sent peace in knowing that all I have to do is forgive, and God wil handle the rest. What a stress free way to live….works for me!

Leave a Reply

